Blogging, Self Congratulation and Fail

I suppose this is really an apology.  I’m sorry I haven’t blogged more in the last couple of weeks.  If the truth be told, I have things I intend to say but have no time to do so.  I have been running around like a mad thing trying to sort out this Lenten/Easter malarkey.  I’m also trying to write an essay for the MA I erroneously started to do at the beginning of the academic year.  On top of this I have spent the last two and a half weeks suffering a lot of chest pain with what the doctor said is “probably a bit of pleurisy”.  Orange tablets and paracetamol all the way!  So to those of you who read my blog regularly, I will try to be better at it in the future.

That aside I received an email today and this is the subject of my fail.  The email came from wikio who rank blogs.  I know nothing about the way in which they rank them but the heart did a little leap at the prospect that it may mean something.  With a rush of blood to the head I placed the little badge that says the ranking at the top of the left column.  Then I realised I was an idiot.  Self congratulations based upon something I don’t even understand?  Learn From My Fail people!  LFMF!!

3 Responses

  1. Sorry to hear things are tough at the mo, it seems to be in the blogging air.

    I’m with you in that I don’t advertise my blog rankings for anything. Becoming that way focussed becomes counter productive at best.

    It took me a while to break my stats obssession.

  2. Thanks. I’m doing my best to keep going without moving too much.

    I don’t really see how it changes anything. What do we actually learn. The purpose of my blog is not to promote anything – I’m not a photographer trying to make a living out of photography for example, I am a follower trying to make life easier for others by sharing what I’ve got. What could stats possibly tell me?

  3. Bingo. That’s exactly my sentiment. I fell into the trap of thinking that the more visitors, the more ‘successful’ the blog. But successful by who’s standards…Gods?

    Probably not.

Leave a Reply

