Married Because I Mean It

I recently blogged about fresh expressions of wedding.  I was just sent a link to an article about a “rebranding exercise” campaign for SHE Magazine.  If I’m honest, I’ve never heard of SHE Magazine but I was intrigued by what they said about marriage as an act of nonconformity.

If the current perception is that marriage is the ultimate act of conformity, the new campaign aims to shows that actually, today, marriage can be the ultimate act of rebellion and non-conformity. The work plays on the fact that getting married is actually intensely independent; the moment when a couple recognises and welcomes the fact that they only need each other and no one else. Marriage isn’t safe and schmaltzy; it’s defiant and brave.

The key image features a black and white image of a female’s left hand sticking a finger up, as if swearing. On a closer look, it is actually the wedding finger – complete with a gold wedding ring – rather than the third finger, that’s being held up. The end line reads, simply: “Married. Because I mean it.” A range of 6 sheets and 48 sheet executions have been developed, with headlines including: “Don’t want to commit? I do.” and “Don’t want the world to know? I do.”

Well it certainly is provocative.

9 Responses

  1. Like it a lot – I am a non-conformist after all!

  2. Have you been hanging out with the Methodists again?

  3. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Changing Worship, Rachel Firth. Rachel Firth said: RT @changingworship: Blogging: Married Because I Mean It http://bit.ly/e9qwCd […]

  4. Like it. Would volunteer my Jaguar wedding ring and the slogan – Do you stand by your promises?

    Alternatives could include “Do you take your word seriously?” or “Do you enjoy bondage?”

  5. Goodness, SHE magazine has been going, on and off, all my life, and that is a fair few years now!

    I think I rather like the ads – thought-provoking, anyway.

  6. Provocative image indeed. It reminds me of the cover of the book “The Meaning of Wife” (http://www.amazon.com/Meaning-Wife-Provocative-Marriage-Twenty-first/dp/0374205108
    that came out a number of years ago. It looks at the institution of marriage (from a feminist perspective) and wonders what we’ve done to it over the years.

  7. great Freudian slip by Changing Worship in his last reply…. Must be Beer O’clock!

  8. I wish it was. I wish every time autocorrect made a mistake I received a beer!

Leave a Reply

