Chris Evans Doffs His Hat

Yesterday I blogged about how top advertising execs had said that “If I had to make Jesus relevant, I would apply his teachings to modern life”.  As if by magic the Archbishop of York, John Sentamu has been on Chris Evan’s Breakfast show to hammer the point home.  Here’s what Chris Evans posted on Facebook later during the day.

You know, I thought I was in quite a good place in my life at the moment after my wilderness years and all that and I am, I’m doing ok, family life is very very good for me.

However, when one has the good fortune to meet someone like John Sentamu, you just realise how much further you can go when it comes to being a better person. Just being around him makes you want to improve yourself, and almost exclusively with regard to what you can do for others.

“What prayers do you say every morning John ?”

“I say very sad prayers to remind me of all the people who need my help much more than I need my help. They teach me not to be self centred and selfish.”

What a fantastically simple mantra and the road to true freedom as a human being.

If I had a hat on, I’d take it off right now. Here’s to J.S. Arch Bish Bash of York.

CLP

2010

X.

If you want to hear the BBC Radio 2 interview it is here on iPlayer starting at roughly 2:42 minutes in.  What a good way to end the week.

Leave a Reply

