I Am A Christian

What do people think of this?

12 Responses

  1. ‘Not Found
    Sorry, but you are looking for something that isn’t here.’

    broken link or a crisis of faith?

  2. Sorry, appologies to all. The link is now fixed!!

  3. “I am a Christian

    Everyday Christians are finding it increasingly difficult to openly express their faith.”

    I find this site problematic to be honest, and it’s not cause I’m ‘on the other side’ but because that sentence right there forms a false argument. Certainly Christians may be finding it increasingly difficult to openly express their faith, but is it for legal reasons, or because they feel stifled by the volume with which the people who don’t agree with their beliefs are voicing their own opinion and standing their ground? Secondly, how is any number of people choosing ‘de-baptism’ – a personal choice making a personal statement forcing any Christian to not openly express their faith? What is considered an open expression of faith, that they cannot do because of the de-baptisms?

  4. Thanks. Personally I am a little uneasy about it ‘from the other side’ to you (I assume from what you say that you are atheist, agnostic or from a faith group other than Christian). That’s why I ask the question because I wonder how others I know feel about it.

    Thanks for coming to my blog and sharing your views with us, you are more than welcome!

  5. Thanks for being so congenial. I don’t quite understand why you’re uneasy – sorry, I’ve read your comment a few times and wondering if there’s a word or something missing!
    I am an atheist, but I like to think there can be some objectivity, especially when it comes to things like this, because it separates emotion from fact (and that can be so useful in discussion). Like I said, this site seems to be more of an emotional reaction than anything to do with hard facts. I’m not slamming it, just thinking out loud 🙂

  6. Sorry isnessie, I hadn’t really said what I think because I’m interested in other people’s views. It tends to be a bit conversational around here. I don’t often start with “what I think is correct”. I guess that isn’t very much like the rest of the internet 😆

    I’m uneasy for a few reasons. Setting up ‘us’ verses ‘them’ strikes me as an unproductive activity and looks suspiciously like the sort of thing that goes on in locker rooms. I don’t actually see how it promotes dialogue and facilitates an atmosphere congenial to being of faith. I think it seems to be a bit of kneejerk reaction towards doing something a bit…. pointless.

    See how big my army is. Erm, no. That seems to me is the last thing that Jesus stood for. If anything, it was the ‘cool and trendy’ group who had the most supporters who shouted “crucify him” loud enough and hard enough for Pilate to do it.

    Thinking out loud is a good thing 😉 It is all I ever do.

  7. Oooh, I’m having a confused day! Just to be clear, whenever I mentioned ‘this site’ I was referring to the site you linked to, not your blog. I agree with your reasons for uneasiness. That’s exactly what it seems to be, and I think it’s also a bit pointless considering there are politics and other issues involved with debaptism, not merely flipping the bird to the Christians, which it seems to have been taken as. The website doesn’t really bother me, just make me feel a bit exhausted really, for all the pointlessness of it. Thanks for visiting over at my blog 🙂

  8. Mixed feelings. Its more considered – and therefore less counterproductive – than, say, the facebook groups of a similar ilk, or the Jerry Springer Opera protests. But when they succeed in gathering their 100,000 names… so what?

    “Christian” is such a vague and varied term in our society. You shall know them by their fruits. 100,000 people signing up to sponsor a child through compassion, or volunteer at their local soup kitchen, or pray for peace or try to live sacrificially, or… would actually mean something, i think, because then we’d be talking about 100,000 people actually trying to follow Jesus’ example, actually trying to achieve something rather than a bunch of individuals self identifying with a very misunderstood label (physician, heal thyself).

    But here’s the mixed feelings – i don’t wanna do it. Not just for reasons i think are good reasons! I just don’t wanna do it. A big part of me, a lot of the time, just doesn’t wanna say “I am a Christian! I follow Jesus!” I think this is a problem and a challenge, and i think i only dimly understand my own psyche here… i dunno… ?

  9. “when they succeed in gathering their 100,000 names… so what?”

    I think that sums up my whole feelings on the matter.

    Don’t beat yourself up too much 😉

  10. ‘everyday Christian’ ??? what does that mean?

    does it mean those who live out their Christian faith everyday? or does it mean those who call themselves Christians who meet together for an hour on a Sunday and have nothing to do with Jesus the rest of the week.

    or as this is on the Premier site does it mean the real Christians who live in the centre of the country outside of which nothing else exists AKA London?

    i dont understand the point of the whole de-baptism thing either as i have already discussed so really dont see why it would require a respose such as this

  11. “Don’t beat yourself up too much”

    But Robb, that’s the only thing i’m good at! Take that away, and what have i got left? =P

  12. Linus – You’ll always have Tim 😉

    I think that “everyday Christians” sounds like the sort of thing that the Daily Mail or the BNP would be claiming the allegiances of. I know that this is not the case with Premier Christian Radio, but I just think that it is a badly thought out phrase and a badly thought out concept. It all smacks of empire and supremacy. That worries me.

    I think what worries me more is that this hasn’t been realised or thought out. We just get on with using language and concepts and then reap the rewards later.

    Does anything exist outside of London? I know I can’t get Premier.

    As for de-baptism, if enough people insist on having the record changed perhaps synod will get to a point where they stop English law from forcing us to baptise anyone who asks us to baptise their kids and start baptising people who ask for themselves or people who are regular attenders who want to have their kids baptised.

Leave a Reply

