Are Fresh Expressions Always a Good Idea?

What do you think of this?

6 Responses

  1. “Taking the gospel relevantly to young people.”

    To think I thought Family Guy and American Dad were far-fetched!

  2. I wish I could say that I don’t believe such a thing could be happening, but quite frankly I could believe anything of the US these days. If you read the comments, though, it was interesting how many atheists used it as an excuse to say ‘of course God doesn’t really exist’ like it was anything to do with the article.

    In terms of fresh expressions, bribery might lead to bums on seats but I think is unlikely to lead to genuine faith!

  3. interesting how many atheists used it as an excuse to say ‘of course God doesn’t really exist’ like it was anything to do with the article

    You spotted that too 😉 ….

    I guess the whole point of the EC movement is that it isn’t just a gimick to get bums on seats. The whole movement is about developing real communities and commitment to faith. I guess it is really what Ian Kent called “extreme discipleship”. This is where the Fresh Expressions lable falls down for me. It strikes me as being about changing the things we do in church rather than who we are in church.

    Obviously that article is crazy – but it provokes the right questions.

  4. extreme discipleship – is that anything like extreme ironing? (www.extremeironing.com)

  5. Yes, it is just like that!!

  6. Extreme ironing… whatever. Had I sufficient agility or courage, I’d love a go, it’d be good exercise. But with guns… um please… I guess I just don’t get the whole entanglement of constitutional amendments on firearms and what the gospel is supposed to have to do with it all. I’d imagine all turning into an exercise more likely to produce recruits for the US army than soldiers for Christ…

Leave a Reply

