Church of England to Sex up Clergy

This is the power of the internet.  I log onto wordpress to write a blog and as I click on the link to changing worship I see this headline out of the corner of my eye and quickly hit the back button.  I have all sorts of ideas about what the link may contain.  Is it a new version of flirty fishing for the 21st century?  Are they introducing low cut clerical wear for the ladies and velcro rip away trousers for the men?  With much intrigue I tentatively click the link to behold this page.

 Now don’t get me wrong, I think that marriage preparation classes are a good thing.  But I can’t help feeling a little let down by false advertising.

7 Responses

  1. Yes, I was a bit disappointed. I thought it might be more than the old marriage prep. As long as they don’t start telling the vicars to talk about sex using ‘authentic language’.

    How many words have you done on the tome now?

  2. The Tome is currently at 10,000 😆 It needs 3-5k more. I really need to speak to my dissertation supervisor to make sure I’m heading in the right direction. I’m hoping to finish it (near as damn) by the end of the Easter Hols. The good news is that as of this afternoon I have a job for then. I will be teaching RE in a Catholic school. A little daunting as it is a completely different bag of rattlesnakes – 2/3hrs a week of mainly Christianity.

    I better go and brush up on my Saints…

  3. Heh sorry – guess I was engaged in sexing up OurKingdom as well – how shameless of me 🙂

    Jon

  4. Hey, not a problem. It did intrigue me when I saw the heading though 😆

  5. Great news! I don’t know that they do a great deal of Saint stuff – it’s more like PSHE with a spiritual slant. Inspirational Christians and stuff. Maximilian Kolbe seems to ring a bell from when my eldest was at a Catholic school. Oscar Romero is another good one. The GCSE will be the Mark’s Gospel one, if you have a GCSE class. I couldn’t see you as the type to be stuck for something to say/do anyway.

    Right, no slacking on that dissertation!

  6. Aye aye captain!!

  7. nice work, bro

Leave a Reply

